University of Applied Science Utrecht in The Netherlands : Reviews & Rankings | Student Reviews & University Rankings EDUopinions
University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU
Get free info

University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU (reviews)

Study at University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU

University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU ratings and description

Locations: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Delivery Type: Blended, On Campus
Overall
Facilities
Professors
Location
Student Life
Accommodation
Internationality
Value
Career Prospects

HU University of Applied Sciences Utrecht is also one of the so many vocational institutes in the country. Established in 1995, the university opens not only to local students but international as well. Currently, approximately they have 38,000 represented by more than 100 nationalities are enrolled at the university. They offer Bachelor and Master’s degree courses such as:Show more

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT University of Applied Science Utrecht

Is University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU a good school?

Based on the EDUopinions rankings, the University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU rating is 3.7. If you want to know more about this school, read the student reviews on our website.

What courses can you study at University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU?

The University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU offers courses related to the fields:

  • International Business
  • Architecture

Where is University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU located?

University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU Campuses are located in:

  • Utrecht, The Netherlands

Which universities are similar to University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU?

The universities similar to University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU are:

Do you have any questions?
Sorry, for now, we can only help for business studies.
Our mission is to provide free valuable information for students to guide their decisions. Contact will be by WhatsApp and email.
Autocomplete with
Your information is secure
Thanks!
We'll contact you soon via Whatsapp or Email

22 Student Reviews

Filter reviews
Sorry, no matches found. Try with another keyword
  • Architecture Design
    avatar
    Creative way to study

    The courses are set up in a creative and fun way. There is a lot of professional interaction from outside the HU. The course I have a the moment has a fun team of teachers and international students. The projects change each year and are up to date.

    View more
    Programme: Architecture Design
    Degree: Bachelor's
    Graduation: 2022
    Delivery Type: Blended
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
    Professors
    Internationality
    Career Prospects
    Value
    Location
    Student Life
    Facilities
    Accommodation
  • International Business
    Hannah
    Think well what you want to be in the future!

    As a 2nd year International Business student who has experienced their first year with online classes (thanks to COVID) and their second year in face to face, I can give a fully transparent and honest review about how my study has been so far.
    At the beginning, despite the online classes, the teachers gave their best to teach and support the students where it was possible. Of course, it was more difficult to understand things, and honestly, our passing quote after the first year was not very high with about 20% passing all grades of the first year. You have multiple possibilities to take a resit – so don’t worry if you don’t pass immediately!
    At the beginning of my second year, everything was face to face again, and we finally had classes on campus. The campus of Utrecht is huge, both the HU and UU are sharing it. The HU buildings are brand new, modern, and clean.
    However, As this second year continued, some problems appeared which were not very visible at the beginning.
    – There is a lack of communication among lecturers, semester coordinators and students. This lack of communication affected the lectures, the final assignments and therefore, the grades.
    – The quality of lectures is dependent on the lecturer. While some classes have had a great lecturer with a teacher that could explain everything, other classes had teachers that have never taught the subject before. Therefore, these classes had disadvantages, leading to bad grades or inequality among the classes.
    – International Business is a very broad program. This leads to advantages and disadvantages. Advantages are that you get to know many different areas of the business world, as most things are covered. However, this is also the disadvantage. Because so many different topics are taught, you do not go too deep into a specific area, which makes me personally feel insecure about different topics (because I just do not know enough of one single topic).

    I wish I had known this from the beginning before I started studying at the HU. Despite these disadvantages, it is overall a good university with a lot of international students, group projects that showcase the real business world and most final assignments consist of group reports and presentations, instead of exams where everything has to be memorized.
    Besides, a big advantage of this study is that you get the opportunity to go abroad three times. Within the program, there are two internships and one semester study abroad.

    The city of Utrecht is a beautiful student city with many cafes, bars and restaurants!

    I hope I was able to give better insights into some pros and cons when studying International Business at the HU!
    Good luck!

    View more
    Programme: International Business
    Degree: Bachelor's
    Graduation: 2024
    Delivery Type: On Campus
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
    Professors
    Internationality
    Career Prospects
    Value
    Location
    Student Life
    Facilities
    Accommodation
    22 Feb, 2022
    Olga
    Olga
    Hey, I'm looking for a university program in Business, probably International Business and I was surprised when I saw your comment. So I'd like to know what degree would you have chosen if you had known all the aspects.
    23 Feb, 2022
    Hannah
    Hannah
    Hi Olga, there is a huge difference in the quality of education between Universities and Universities of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands. In NL, you can only study IB at the University of Groningen and Maastricht. Looking back, I still would have chosen this study but then in Groningen or Maastricht. The quality of Applied sciences are all not as good as universities. As for me now, I am switching bachelors and I will start new studies in sustainability science with a major in economics at the university next year!
  • International Business
    avatar
    What's fun, without a challenge?

    Having entered the second year of my study (International Business FT), here is what I have seen so far. The course is designed to give students like myself, an idea of what is happening out there. Instead of taking tests and memorizing text; you are presenting proposals, writing academic reports and even doing primary market research. The program is designed to give you experience, and if you think you can keep up, join the Fast Track Program, where you save a year, despite going on two internships and semester abroad.

    Sure, the first semester is straightforward; but moving forward, your time management skills become essential, and teamwork only increases. In a matter of months, you face a consistently changing, yet rewarding environment. The culture here is engaging and creative, where study coaches and professors not only guide, but encourage their students to implement out-of-the-box thinking to creative solutions, particularly in sustainability (PPE).

    Now, for the practical student concerns: Housing on campus is provided for first years, at least 8 lanes of public transport, parks and bars spread across remote campus and most importantly, the food is affordable, yet

    View more
    Programme: International Business
    Degree: Bachelor's
    Graduation: 2022
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
    Professors
    Internationality
    Career Prospects
    Value
    Location
    Student Life
    Facilities
    Accommodation
  • Communication and ...
    Media Studies
    avatar
    Continuously adapting study programs

    The HU is a great university with a very international touch; you can meet people from all over the world, and although the big campus can seem overwhelming at first, it made me feel very at home. From my own experience, the course International Communication and Media (now called Creative Business) delivers a great toolset for anyone who wants to do “something with media”. It simply gives you a little bit of everything but allows for a stronger focus in certain areas later on. Although it felt a bit all-over-the-place at certain times, it’s good that they are continuously adapting the program to prepare us for the current working world out there.
    In short, the HU offers international students a great program that hands you a slice of nearly every aspect of communication, allowing you to figure out what your favorite part is along the way.

    View more
    Programme: Communication and Media Studies
    Degree: Bachelor's
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
    Professors
    Internationality
    Career Prospects
    Value
    Location
    Student Life
    Facilities
    Accommodation
    09 Apr, 2021
    Adriana
    Adriana
    Hi I\'m Eduard from Romania and I would ask you if I have to choose between HU and BUAS what would be the best option as educational and post graduated future? I know that HU is almost 6 times mire than BUAS, on the other hand Breda is known as a medium city, but very creative and cultural. Thank you
  • Daniel
    HU, the trade-offs school.

    As the title suggests, in my experience as a third-year business student, that is the best short description that can be given to HU. It definitely is not the best school and there are flaws, very annoying and disappointing at times, which take time to be solved. Most of these flaws are related to communication issues.
    In contrast, it has some advantages too. I had the opportunity to meet and be taught by experienced professionals who helped me develop my skills and enhance my knowledge and abilities as a young business student and professional.
    Another very good advantage is that at HU you get to do 2 internships and one study abroad, trio that other universities do not offer. Also, with the new program, there is so much flexibility to shape your own path but also the opportunity to study more languages which constitute a great asset for one’s future career.
    The city represents a good pawn as well since it is very central, modern and student friendly. Also, for someone who wants to travel every now and then, it is a perfect location.
    What I can recommend you, the one who reads this review, the undecided student, is that you should consider these things when you decide which school you want to go to, try to have your own trade-off between what is important to you and how the institution is ranking in different aspects. HU is, in the end, a good school and the issues that are going on are not major and are fixable so do not worry too much about that. I just wanted to be realistic while writing this review because this is what I would have liked to read when I was in your place.
    Good luck!

    View more
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
  • Alex
    Learning for life

    The HU is a fantastic university of applied sciences and I’m happy that I have chosen to study here! I enjoy being part of honours programs and GetConnected our student organisation. Looking forward to be moving into the new building soon as the current one is definitely not the best. I think that I would like to see change is the food choice. Healthier in overall and warm options for dairy or gluten intolerant people.

    View more
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
  • Daan
    Prepared for my work field

    The University of Applied Science in Utrecht is a perfect university for students who live by the motto ‘learn by doing’. As an active student within the HU I see across different faculties the same satisfaction of being thought how to work on different components of cases for your future work field. As an International Communication systems students, I have had many opportunities come my way from cases I worked on, the network and partnerships that the Hogeschool Utrecht provides and within the University itself. I have started my own study association, worked for a sustainable organ within the university that makes sure all students and employees are aware of how involved the university and the city is with the Sustainable Development Goals. The courses vary in theory and more practical courses, which prevent students of either feeling that the study is too practical or too theoretical.

    As an International, I can highly recommend the HU, but do take into account that the University of Applied Sciences has quite a few (International) study programs have grown massively over the past few years thanks to their popularity. This means I sometimes felt a bit like a number instead of a student. Another major problem is housing in the city if you decide to study in Utrecht make sure you start searching for a room in time.

    Furthermore, I can only recommend the city for everyone who enjoys a city that supports students and International environments. I enjoy both studying and living in Utrecht and at the University of applied sciences.

    View more
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall
  • avatar
    International Communication and Media

    I’m a fourth-year student at the HU, currently following ICM and specialising in Marketing.
    The course in itself is very good, you learn a lot that you can put into practice in your future career. I had no problems during my internship with tasks I had to do because I feel ICM has prepared me enough for challenges and tasks I had to encounter with the courses they offer at ICM.
    However, I cannot begin to explain in a short paragraph how disorganised and unprofessional this faculty is. It reflects the wrong side of HU and completely changes the prestigious image the university holds.
    There is little to no communication at all between students and lecturers. The curriculum is being changed like there is no tomorrow, hindering students who are studying abroad or doing their internship abroad (which is mandatory for ICM) leaving us powerless and with debt due to delay.

    Furthermore, this school has no compassion for its students and they do their best to not answer concerning emails or help any student.
    So to sum it up, ICM is a fantastic individualistic course that prepares you for what your future beholds with extra debt thanks to the horrible administration of the ICM faculty.

    Thanks for the courses and I’ll be sure to send a bouquet of flowers to everyone who helped me during these 4 years and a half (which is 0) when I graduate.

    I will never recommend this course to anyone I know.

    View more
    Campus: Utrecht
    Overall

Featured Reviews from other universities

6 months ago
Michelle
Michelle
The best!
This university is situated in such a beautiful location You can't deny that attending this university which is situated right in the heart of Paris hasn't taught or exposed you to certain things With the vast metropolis of Paris at your feet learning is close by if your lesson ends [...]
American University of Paris - AUP logo
American University of Paris - AUP
Paris, France
7 months ago
Bernard
Bernard
Colorado -A College Town With a Friendly Community
Fort Collins is a great college town with a vibrant and incredibly friendly community nestled in the foothills of Colorado Beer lovers will love this place - there are over microbreweries including names like New Belgium O'dells Fort Collins Brewery and more The people of this area go out of [...]
Colorado State University logo
Colorado State University
fort collins Colorado, United States
12 months ago
Zarrar
Zarrar
Blended learning approach
The whole experience was amazing From teaching to interactions to sports to making new friends and even the assignments Loved it as a whole and it is one of the best experiences of my life I would recommend getting your undergrad from this Uni [...]
Nottingham Trent University - NTU logo
Nottingham Trent University - NTU
Nottingham, The United Kingdom
9 months ago
Monica
Monica
A UNIVERSITY WITH MULTIPLE ETHNICITY
My opinion about this university is that it has a high educational system in the sense that the lecturers do their best in making sure we pass all modules they are understanding and always there to assist us however some can be very strict disciplined it is quite expensive onlike [...]
Coventry Business School logo
Coventry Business School
Coventry, The United Kingdom
7 months ago
Caitlin
Caitlin
M.Ed. Online
I was able to earn an M Ed completely online which was perfect for me I had never gone to a Christian school before and it was soothing to have advisors tell me they would pray for me I think the teachers were excellent and the subject matter has prepared [...]
Regent University logo
Regent University
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
11 months ago
Sahil
Sahil
A world of opportunities
NHH is one of the underrated universities that most people do not know about For starters tuition used to be free there One of the reasons it was my top choice but then it was also the best Business School in Norway The faculty was top notch and the learning [...]
NHH Norwegian School of Economics logo
NHH Norwegian School of Economics
Bergen, Norway

Receive more information
immediately for free

Sorry, for now, we can only help for business studies.
Our mission is to provide free valuable information for students to guide their decisions. Contact will be by WhatsApp and email.
Autocomplete with
Your information is secure
Thanks!
We'll contact you soon via Whatsapp or Email
Are you managing this university?

If you're the owner or representative of University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU, you can claim this University and build a better profile.

Claim this University

Related Universities

Featured University
TIAS School for Business and Society
TIAS School for Business and Society
5 1 Review
avatar
Rahim
5
Great squad of professors
I remember TIAS as a place where I always had personal assistance and felt like home from the outset Further I have had a great time with detached professors of View more
Featured University
Utrecht University - UU
Utrecht University - UU
4.1 30 Reviews
Diede
Diede
5
Broad university with lots of opportunities
High quality education good teacher-student ratio and interesting study programs Good support on services like Career guidance as well De campus is not the most beautiful place ever but hey View more
Featured University
HKU University of the Arts Utrecht
HKU University of the Arts Utrecht
2.3 3 Reviews
avatar
Student
3
opinion
Studied at the Hilversum location The school offers you a lot of freedom with projects If they're going good and have potential to grow into something big they might let View more
Featured University
Radboud University
Radboud University
4.4 20 Reviews
Willem
Willem
5
Radboud Is Perfect For An International Student Experience
From its very beginning the Radboud University Nijmegen was founded on the idea that your studies should be more than just studying Every course you'll follow will not only educate View more
Featured University
Hotelschool The Hague
Hotelschool The Hague
5 2 Reviews
Keshav
Keshav
5
Student Life and Student/Lecturer interaction is great
I think Hotelschool really gives you a platform to shine and develop From its student life to its courses Gives a very professional outtake on how the industry operates and View more
Interested in studying at University of Applied Science Utrecht - HU?
  • +programme_dots+
    +programme_dots_hide+
    +comment_date1+
    +comment_user_logo+
    +comment_user+
    +title+
    +comment+View more
    Programme: +program_name+
    Degree: +degree+
    Graduation: +graduation_year+
    Delivery Type: +delivery+
    Campus: +campus+
    +all_ratings+
  • Overall
    Facilities
    Professors
    Location
    Student Life
    Accomodation
    Internationality
    Value
    Career Prospects
    +reply1_date+
    +reply1_user_logo+
    +reply1_user+
    Official Reply
    +reply+
    This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our Privacy Policy for more details.
    Close